Security Binds Her – Jennifer Bene

security binds her

Security Binds Her
*Book 1 of 4 in the Thalia Series*

205 pages

3 ⭐⭐⭐

Thalia is a data entry temp stuck at work late one night. Leaving down the stairs, she’s attacked by the night security guard who has had contact with her before. Only before, he was a gentleman and walked her to her car when she worked late. Now he was beating her up and raping her.

well, that escalated...

The guard takes her home and ungently informs her that she is being trained to be sold as a sex slave. Torture and rape ensue.

I have no clue how I feel about this book. Until the last chapter or two, I hated it. It was nothing but the guard loving her, then beating her because she made the smallest mistake, but oh she’s so beautiful he needs her again. Thalia was weaker than I expected. I realize giving in and trying to please him was for her self-preservation, but she kept blaming herself. She was afraid of the guard and his mercurial punishments, but overall she just kept berating herself for having a physical reaction when touched/raped. The few scenes she did fight back were stupid, but I liked her more. I liked her feisty, not meek.

I kept crossing my fingers for the guard to redeem himself, that he would actually develop a conscience and realize that, “hey, I’m a pretty awful person. I should change that.” Nah, didn’t happen. I was convinced he would be the main love interest and I wasn’t ok with that. He beat her so severely whenever he was mad at his brother, verbally berated her, raped her without preparation… there’s just too much to be forgiven.

*Spoilers* 
At the end, an auction is held and James comes into the picture. Phew, thank the lord for James. He’s only into consensual things and agrees to never touch Thalia if she doesn’t want him to.  (I’m not sure why he’s scoping out submissives from guys that abduct and rape them rather than a willing one, but hopefully the following books will fill me in.) He makes an offer and the guard, now known as Marcus, loses his mind. I didn’t intend on reading the other books, but now that it’s clearer that Thalia’s time with Marcus wasn’t the set-up for an abusive relationship but rather an insight to the traumatizing experience she had, I now have to read the rest of the series to see if she heals. Good job, Ms. Bene, you hooked me.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

